Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Registered
Joined: 8/30/2019(UTC) Posts: 33 Location: Arcata, California Thanks: 2 times
|
My batch file that calls CenterPointDataBrowserConsole.exe work just fine interactively, but it hangs when run as a scheduled task in W10. Can you offer any suggestions?
|
|
|
|
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administrators, Moderator, Registered Joined: 2/28/2018(UTC) Posts: 53 Location: Red Wing, MN
Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 4 post(s)
|
I would check the following:
1. The working directory is being set correctly 2. An appropriate user account is being used to run the task (try your current user account.) 3. The task is *not* being elevated (CenterPoint does not require elevation.)
If these are set appropriately and it runs fine when you select "Run selected task" in the scheduler, then it should run fine when scheduled.
|
|
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Registered
Joined: 8/30/2019(UTC) Posts: 33 Location: Arcata, California Thanks: 2 times
|
The beginning of the batch file stores the date and run time in a text file. So I can tell that the batch file is getting launched correctly by the task scheduler. I'm using the same user account and turned off elevation. But when I "run selected task", it hangs when it get to the line:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Red Wing Software\CenterPoint\CenterPointDataBrowserConsole.exe" \\han\tp\XMLsetting.txt [username] [password]
Any other suggestions? Does this work for others?
|
|
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Registered
Joined: 2/28/2018(UTC) Posts: 65 Location: Pennsylvani mostly Was thanked: 9 time(s) in 9 post(s)
|
I don't know much about this stuff, but I think that you probably need to run CenterPoitnDataBrowserConsole.exe from the "C:\Program Files (x86)\Red Wing Software\" folder.
Maybe something like:
cd "C:\Program Files (x86)\Red Wing Software\" CenterPointDataBrowserConsole.exe \\han\tp\XMLsetting.txt [username] [password]
Not sure what needs to be quoted and what does not.
|
|
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Registered
Joined: 8/30/2019(UTC) Posts: 33 Location: Arcata, California Thanks: 2 times
|
I changed the batch file to change directory and then run the import. It still works interactively, but still hangs when started from the Task Scheduler.
|
|
|
|
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administrators, Moderator, Registered Joined: 2/28/2018(UTC) Posts: 53 Location: Red Wing, MN
Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 4 post(s)
|
I just ran an experiment myself and it worked fine when I executed the batch file from a Windows Scheduled Task in Windows 10.
Are you changing any default settings in the task when you configure it that I may not be replicating in my test?
When I add the Task, I select "Start a program" and select the Batch file, I do *not* specify any arguments or a start in path and I do not alter any other settings, so it defaults to running as Me and doesn't elevate.
- Aaron.
|
|
|
|
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administrators, Moderator, Registered Joined: 2/28/2018(UTC) Posts: 53 Location: Red Wing, MN
Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 4 post(s)
|
It may also be worth putting a "PAUSE" after the export in your batch file so the console windows stay open after the task launches. Then you can see if the CenterPointDataBrowserConsole.exe is reporting an error.
- Aaron.
|
|
|
|
Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.
Important Information:
The Red Wing Software Developer Forum uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.
More Details
Close